Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » unattach LOV based on SYSTEM.MODE
unattach LOV based on SYSTEM.MODE [message #158404] Fri, 10 February 2006 10:41 Go to next message
bdrufner
Forms 9.0.4 (32 bit), RDBMS 9.0.2

I am new to Oracle Forms.

I have an ITEM trigger (when-new-item-instance) that based on the value of SYSTEM.MODE attaches a LOV to an item. It works ok.

What I would like to do is if SYSTEM.MODE evaluates to NORMAL and a LOV is attached to the item in question is UNATTACH the LOV.

It have done some web and manual searching, but I am not getting anywhere. I have attached the trigger below:

begin

if :system.mode = 'ENTER-QUERY' then

-- test to see if LOV is attached to text item
		if get_item_property('db_hrt_class.class_end_date',LIST) = 'FALSE' then

-- if not attached, attach LOV
			set_item_property('db_hrt_class.class_end_date', LOV_NAME, 'lov_class_end_date');

end if;

elsif :system.mode = 'NORMAL' then

-- test to see if LOV is attached to text item 
		if get_item_property('db_hrt_class.class_end_date',LIST) = 'TRUE' then		

-- if attached, unattach LOV
		  message('need syntax to unattach LOV');

end if;

end if;

end;

Any help, comments, suggestions, syntax, etc is appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Barry
Re: unattach LOV based on SYSTEM.MODE [message #158671 is a reply to message #158404] Mon, 13 February 2006 19:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
Have you tried the following?
set_item_property('db_hrt_class.class_end_date',LOV_NAME,null);

David
Re: unattach LOV based on SYSTEM.MODE [message #158794 is a reply to message #158404] Tue, 14 February 2006 07:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
bdrufner
David,

First, thanks for the feedback.

Actually, I did try the suggested code prior to hitting the ORAFAQ board for help but received the following error message on compile of the trigger:

"too many declarations of SET_ITEM_PROPERTY match this call"