Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Reflect Master Update on Detail
Reflect Master Update on Detail [message #410150] Thu, 25 June 2009 08:24 Go to next message
mkhalawi
Dear all

I have a Master-Detail form, one item in the Detail block (:Detail_blk.itm1) reads its value from another item in the master block (:Master_blk.itm2). I did that by setting the initial value property for the item in the detail to be :Master_blk.itm2

there are no problem when i insert a new record, but in case of update, when i update the Master item (:Master_blk.itm2), its value does not reflect on the Detail item (:Detail_blk.itm1).

I tried to write a normal assignment statment
(:Detail_blk.itm1 = :Master_blk.itm2)
in the Post_Update trigger on the Master block, but i face the following error:
"Record has been updated by another user,re-query to see change".

how could i reflect the changes in the master block on the detail block and to be saved when i commit.

Thanx alot
Re: Reflect Master Update on Detail [message #410151 is a reply to message #410150] Thu, 25 June 2009 08:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cookiemonster
If the value in the detail block should always be the same as the master block then you shouldn't store it in the detail block at all.
Re: Reflect Master Update on Detail [message #410157 is a reply to message #410151] Thu, 25 June 2009 08:53 Go to previous messageGo to next message
mkhalawi
No not always the same, i have two scenarios
the first the user can change the value in the detail without effecting the value in the Master. but if the user changes the Master value, then the change should be reflected on the detail.
the second scenario is that the value is copied and the user can't change it.

thanx

Re: Reflect Master Update on Detail [message #410287 is a reply to message #410157] Fri, 26 June 2009 00:19 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
And how will the form know which scenario to follow?

David