Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Current detail block in master detail form (Oracle Designer 9.0.4.4.8, Form Builder 9.0.4.1.0, Windows XP Professional)
Current detail block in master detail form [message #388863] Thu, 26 February 2009 07:44 Go to next message
scorpio4frenz
I have a master-detail form with 1 master block called "companies" and 2 detail blocks, namely "in-transactions" and "out-transactions". The detail blocks are created using tabs. At any time, the master and one of the detail blocks is visible on the screen.

Both my detail blocks have a field called "transaction_type", which uses the "transaction_type" from the respective tables on which the blocks are based, and can have values "A","B", and "C". I have a button in the master saying "Create new type-A record". I'm trying to implement a functionality wherein when the user clicks that button, a new row with transaction_type = "A" should be created in the detail block that is currently on the screen. I know how to implement this for a single block once I know what block it is, but I'm getting stuck at the part where I need to determine which detail block I need to add the row to! I was initially thinking of using something like :system.cursor_block or :system.current_block but these will only give me the name of the master block since I will be in the master block when I click the button!

Can anyone provide any ideas?

I greatly appreciate any tips.
Re: Current detail block in master detail form [message #388865 is a reply to message #388863] Thu, 26 February 2009 07:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
One way would be to move that button onto the tab pages (which means that you'll have two of them, one for "in" and one for "out" transactions). Doing so, you'd be able to easily navigate to the desired block and create a new record.